Alice in Wonderland

I found a rather funky piece of software made by Stage3 Research Group of Carnegie Mellon University called Alice 2.0.  I think I will use it for my introductory computer graphics and multimedia class.

I’ve been trying to play around with it to see what it can do, and so far so good. This neat little program allows seriously easy introduction to 3D graphics programming. And when I say easy, I really meant EASY. No creepy OpenGL stuffs, it’s so easy that even Beefy will be able to do it (jk jk jk …).

Have a look at the code sample and don’t tell me it ain’t easy !

World.my first animation ( )
    No variables
       Wait 1 second
  Camera set point of view to <None> point of view of = Camera.PointOfView2 duration = 2 seconds
  Wait 1 second
  Camera set point of view to <None> point of view of = Camera.PointOfView
  Do together
       IceSkater turn left 0.45 revolutions
  IceSkater set pose IceSkater.pose
  IceSkater.skate howManySteps = 1
  IceSkater.simpleSpin
  // backwards and jump

And then some screenshots of Alice’s wonder:

capture02jpeg.jpg  capture06jpeg.jpg

Oh did I mention we can export it to Java applet too ? Interested ? Visit : http://www.alice.org/ Hehehe kok kayak infommercial gini ? I can’t wait to allow the students to play around with this, I hope they have as much fun as I do.

Anyways, it’s friday and I’m looking forward to go back to Jakarta to see B.D ( read : Buncis Dearest ^^ ) and my friends. Yippeee !!

6 thoughts on “Alice in Wonderland

Leave a Reply

