Develop Clean House Habit

Alright, confession time : not all females are born neat-freak. I’m definitely not -.-, I’m a clutterer by nature. And yes, it can be quite embarassing. The main problem is that after I took out things, I never put them back in their original place, until the urge to clean up the house arrives and I ended up having to tidy up everything, and soon … I will start cluttering again. When I was younger, I prohibited everyone including my mum, who tried to tidy up my room. The reason was simple, I thought that I preferred to have all my books around the floor so I can study easily. So whenever someone tried to put my books in proper stacks, I threw a tantrum and threatened them that my academic performance would dwindle if they insisted on doing so ( in my family, academic performance is extremely important). Afterwards, naturally nobody dared to stop me from cluttering 🙂

Anyway, I wondered if I could change this bad habit. I came across and interesting blog article : “Develop clean house habits one at a time“. I know I will not be Martha Stewart overnight – nor would I want to be a neat freak anyway , since I’m proud that I have more important stuffs to do than this – but, I could try some of the tips there.

I’ll try each of these new ‘habits’ over a two-weeks period, hopefully I can permanently acquire some of them ^^.

  • hang your clothes up or put them in hamper immediately
  • put all papers (including school papers, post-in notes, bills, etc) in one in basket, and process at the end of each day
  • keep you sink clean and shiny (wash dishes immediately, clean sink after)
  • pick up before you go to bed and before you leave the house
  • empty your trash daily
  • 15 minutes decluttering sessions each day
  • clean your shower, toilet and bathroom sink after each use (only takes a couple minutes!)
  • have a place for everything, and put everything in its place immediately
  • make your bed each morning
  • keep flat surfaces (counters, tables, desks) clear of clutter
  • put away your stuff as soon as you get home

Well , the good news is : I have always maintain a clean sink, and I empty my trash daily (ok, almost daily). Go me !

6 thoughts on “Develop Clean House Habit

  1. penembusbatas says:

    waw. think it is just gonna stick with me for about 1 week. Then i’ll go back to my normal life: put everything not at where it belongs, and here it comes the messy room AGAIN. 😀
    I don’t know why it is so difficult for me to be a neat-freak?? :-S

  2. nebulousarion says:

    @penembusbatas : I heard there is a correlation between being a geek and a mess. Anyway, I’m starting by making my bed every morning, but this morning , I failed to do it -_- because I woke up late.

    @rich : and risk myself the title of “the world’s most disastruous housewife” ? I think not ^^.

  3. adipt says:

    is this ms. sandy? i am adipt, adipt! *finger pointing to the air looking for attention.

    somehow i know from long time ago that IT people are not meant to be tidy! It’s not just an opinion, it is a valid statement and proven.

    so don’t bother to change your habit miss, just let it be, lol *devil-laugh

  4. Pong2 says:

    Anyone want to see my room. Its a typical boy’s room….. heheheh but i like it the way it is coz i can find things here where nobody can

Leave a Reply

